Coalition Committees

The Michigan Dementia Coalition plans to continue building our coalition as we work together to carry out next steps needed to achieve the vision set forth in the Roadmap. The coalition has established the following committees, and we welcome additional members to serve on any of them.

Please click on the committees below to learn more about the work each is doing towards making Michigan a dementia capable state, and discover how you can get involved!

Provides leadership and strategic direction for the coalition.

Contact: Lisa Dedden Cooper at lcooper@aarp.org

Expands opportunities for improvement in recognizing and preventing abuse, exploitation, and neglect for all persons impacted by dementia.

Contact: Les Dubin at dubinles@med.umich.edu or Fei Sun at sunfei@msu.edu

Identifies needs of persons living with dementia and their families and solutions impacting the support provided to them.

Contact: Melanie Baird at mbaird@alz.org

Enhances knowledge, skills, and practices of providers working with dementia patients, caregivers, and their families.

Contact: Joan Ilardo at ilardo@msu.edu or Suzanne Purvis at Suzanne.Purvis@beaumont.org

Identifies shared and unique challenges of dementia among diverse groups and develops culturally sensitive and inclusive strategies to reduce disparities.

Contact: Vince Tilford at vtilford@hannan.org; Irving Vega at vegaie@msu.edu; or Brenda Roberts at broberts@miassistedliving.org

Develops legislative strategies to achieve the goals set forth in the Roadmap.

Contact: Colin Ford at cjford@alz.org

Actively recruits, engages, and accommodates persons with dementia to fully participate in all aspects of the Coalition.

Contact: Brenda Roberts at broberts@miassistedliving.org

Develops strategic relationships and creative solutions to address dementia as a significant public health issue.

Contact: Sally Steiner at steiners@michigan.gov or Katrina Summersett at ksummersett@PVM.org

Develops materials and strategies for communicating about the work of the coalition.

Contact: Scott Counts at scott.counts@hc.msu.ed or Lisa Dedden Cooper at lcooper@aarp.org

Interested in joining a committee? Click on any of the committees above to learn more and get in touch with the committee chair!